Patched uploads
What are patched uploads?
A typical upload does not modify all (or even most) of the content however with legacy uploads, content creators are forced to upload their entire projects and users are forced to redownload the entire content each time there is a change. For large projects:
This results in long cook & upload times
Negative UX for users who are required to download lots of content
Bloat on users machines as they download duplicate content
Patched uploads (sometimes just called "patching") is an umbrella term for 2 content upload and download optimizations that improve the workflows for content creators and the UX for users. When using patched uploads, the first upload is a "base patch" and contains all the content from the project . All subsequent uploads benefit automatically.
Configuring patched uploads
Patched uploads can be configured via Project Settings > World Builder > Upload

Use Patching (Experimental) - Will enable or disable patching.
Use Remote Cook Caching (Experimental) - Will enable or disable remote cook caching
Recommended configuration
We recommend you enable both patching and remote cook caching to receive the full benefit
Uploading a new base patch
The "Upload Content" window allows users to intentionally upload a new base patch. This resets the revision history of your patched uploads and will trigger another full upload.

Known Limitations
Changing engine version will trigger a new base patch automatically
Adding or removing platforms requires a new base patch
Last updated

